Letter to a “Friend”

“Today I decided to forgive you. Not because you apologized or because you acknowledged the pain that you caused me, but because my soul deserves peace.” – Najwa Zebian

Dear *Insert unnamed individuals name here*

You truly hurt me, more than you will ever know. At this point there’s no real anger involved, just very very hurt. You did something that is so inconceivable to me, because I would never ever think of doing that to someone I considered myself close with. Not only that, no apology or reasoning ever came from your mouth. I haven’t heard from you since the incident. To be honest, I didn’t think you were the type of person to not own up to your decisions and confront things head on. I guess I was wrong about that though.

I’ve thought for a long time about what I would write/say if I actually decided to write/talk to you, and nothing truly describes the amount of hurt I feel, and I don’t think there ever will be anything.

Despite all this…I forgive you. I forgive you for hurting me so badly and rocking my world to a point that you will never know. I forgive you, not for you, but for me, because I deserve to have peace. I deserve to have a peaceful life back. I deserve to not have this hanging over my head all of the time. Simply put, I deserve my life back, before this happened.

Lets be completely clear…just because I forgive you, doesn’t mean I want you in my life anymore. You may be my sister-in-Christ, but that doesn’t mean that I need to share my soul life with you, and I don’t intend to. You no longer “deserve” (for lack of a better word) that space in my life you once had.

That being said, I don’t wish ill of you. I hope you enjoy the rest of your life, and make the best of it. I’ll see you at the return.

From,
A once dear friend.

somepeoplearejustshittyhumans

 

Leave a comment